In conversation with Ashley Hay

Off the Record

Craig Sherborne

QAG Lecture Theatre



#About the event


Craig Sherborne

Craig Sherborne

Craig Sherborne’s memoir Hoi Polloi (2005) was shortlisted for the Queensland Premier’s and Victorian Premier’s Literary Awards. The follow-up, Muck (2007), won the Queensland Premier’s Literary Award for Non-fiction.

Craig’s first novel, The Amateur Science of Love (2011), won the Melbourne Prize for Literature’s Best Writing Award, and was shortlisted for a Victorian Premier’s Literary Award and a NSW Premier’s Literary Award. His second novel, Tree Palace (2014), was shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award.

Craig has also written two volumes of poetry, Bullion (1995) and Necessary Evil (2005), and a verse drama, Look at Everything Twice for Me (1999).

He lives outside Melbourne.


Ashley Hay

Ashley Hay

Ashley Hay’s work has been praised for its “incandescent intelligence and a rare sensibility”. Her awards include the Foundation for Australian Literary Studies’ Colin Roderick Award and the New South Wales’ Premier’s Literary Awards’ People’s Choice (for The Railwayman’s Wife), and the Bragg/UNSW Press Prize for Science Writing for The Forest at the Edge of Time (originally published in the Australian Book Review).

Her first novel, The Body in the Clouds, was celebrated by the New York Times as “a rich, meditative novel” whose “grander literary concepts are conveyed in … elegant prose”.  Her most recent novel, A Hundred Small Lessons, was shortlisted for the 2017 Queensland Literary Awards.

She lives in Brisbane and is the editor of Griffith Review.

#More events

A Hundred Small Lessons

Sold Out

Queensland Terrace, State Library of Queensland

Refugee Stories

Selling Fast

QAG Lecture Theatre

Before I Let You Go/ Lovesome

QAG Lecture Theatre

Expo 88: We'll Show The World