BWF presents...

Author/Editor #09: Lisa Gorton & Toby Fitch

Lisa Gorton + Toby Fitch


#About the event

#Buy a Season Pass

Buy a Season Pass

#Series supported by


Lisa Gorton

Lisa Gorton

Lisa Gorton lives in Melbourne and writes poetry, fiction and essays. She completed a doctorate on John Donne’s poetry and prose at Oxford University. Her awards include the Phillip Hodgins Memorial Medal, the Victorian Premier's Prize for Poetry, the NSW Premier’s People’s Choice Award for Fiction, and the Prime Minister’s Prize for Fiction (shared). She edited Black Inc’s Best Australian Poems 2013 and worked with Toby Fitch to co-edit the 2015 Australian Poetry Anthology. 

Lisa is the poetry editor of Island magazine. She also works as a poetry editor at Giramondo Publishing, where she edited Toby Fitch's forthcoming poetry collection Sydney Spleen. Lisa's two most recent publications are her novel The Life of Houses and the poetry collection Empirical, recently shortlisted for the NSW Premier’s Prize for Poetry and the Prime Minister’s Prize for Poetry. Toby Fitch, as editor of Australian Poetry Journal volume 7 in 2017, edited the long poem that is the centrepiece of that work.

Toby Fitch

Toby Fitch

Toby Fitch writes poetry and essays. He works as a sessional academic in creative writing at the University of Sydney, and as an editor in various capacities. He is the current poetry editor of Overland, editor and curator at large for Australian Poetry, and has previously worked as an editor for Southerly, the Australian and New Zealand Journal of Art, and for Power Publications

He is a co-editor of the new forthcoming series of Best Australian Poetry. He edited the forthcoming anthology of poems Groundswell: The Overland Judith Wright Poetry Prize for New and Emerging Poets 2007-2020 and worked with Lisa Gorton to co-edit the 2015 Australian Poetry Anthology. In 2017, he edited ‘Transforming My Country’, a series of poems that included Lisa Gorton’s long poem ‘Royal Park’. His poem ‘Sparkling Anxiety’ won the Charles Rischbieth Jury Poetry Prize 2020. His books of poetry include Rawshock, which won the Grace Leven Prize for Poetry 2012, Where Only the Sky had Hung Before and, most recently, Sydney Spleen (Giramondo 2021), a collection edited by Lisa Gorton.